the good housewife

hello internet,

Just said goodbye to my cleaning lady and said hello to superb clean house!!

Yes I admit it. I have a cleaning lady now. 

For 7 years I did everything myself: cleaning and tidying the house, washing clothes, and picking up my caveman’s dirty socks. My caveman is my boyfriend and he calls himself “The Caveman” because he never tidies up after himself and he’s proud of it. But that’s okay, since he cooks and irons. So i turn a blind eye every time I find dirty underwear 20 cm from the laundry basket…

I must admit, I’m not the best housewife in the world. I can’t cook, bake or make my own clothes. The women around me however, seem to do all those things and doing them perfectly. Oh, and raising kids at the same time. And have a blossoming career of course…

I’m not one of those women… I clean up really good if someone comes to visit me. You won’t find a dusty corner to bitch about it to your other perfect friends!!!  But when it’s just my caveman and me, the house is… well… a cave. Especially since we moved to the big house of Granny. I just couldn’t cope with it anymore. Working in the garden is just so much more fun than cleaning… and a bigger house means more surface, I never knew it would be such a difference to my former little home…  So my mother, tired of rolling her eyes everytime she enters the cave, ordered I’d take a cleaning lady. 

AND I’M LOVING IT!

So I don’t care what my friends say: “THOU SHALL CLEAN YOUR OWN MESS UNLESS YOU HAVE CHILDREN”. Having a cleaning lady if you don’t have children seems decadent to them and a waste of money.

I don’t have children. So sorry that’s I’m decadent, which also means I provide a job for someone ( hurray for the economy)

My childless collegue said it beautifully last week: okay, if you have kids, then you don’t have the time to clean any more. However, if you don’t have kids, than you have more spare time which you fill up with fun things like parties, exhibitions and long walks/bike rides, so you also don’t have time to clean EITHER.

She’s right on.

I have a cleaning lady but no kids and I am proud of it.

xxx little dragon

 

Leave a Reply

